Biodiversity of the underwater world

The Aquariums in the room of biodiversity are comparable with „open windows“, and allow an insight into the underwater world. Discover the fascinating biodiversity and the development of life inside the tanks. During your visit you will see animal species from the North Sea, the Mediterranean Sea, warm waters, streams, rivers and lakes from temperate or tropical climate zones.

Temperate Seawaters


Télécharger

Let’s have a look at the North Sea and the Mediterranean Sea! Discover extraordinary animal species. Some disguise themselves with help of their pigmentation into the ground of the sea, others have the ability to change their gender. It is surprising how unknown some animals are to us, despite their geographical proximity.

Warm Seawaters


Poisson-chirurgien

Set sail to tropical and clear blue waters! Numerous coral reef habitants are waiting for you in order to show their spectacular forms and colours. Travel across the equator within a blink of an eye. You’ll be amazed by the most colourful and diverse part of the Aquarium.

Temperate Fresh waters


Silure glane

Meet regional fish species of lakes and streams! About 40 fish species are home to these waters, some exposed in different fish tanks are certainly unknown to you. Learn more about them in order to be able to recognize them.

Warm Fresh waters


Piranha

Meet extraordinary fish species which originate from African, Asian, and South American lakes and watercourses. You might know some of them as they are often sold in Aquatic shops.

Also discover…

Choose your language

Discover our other museums

Discover our published works in our online shop

Biodiversité du Monde Aquatique

Les bassins de la salle Biodiversité sont comme des « fenêtres ouvertes sur le monde aquatique » : ils vous offrent un aperçu de l’étonnante diversité de la vie qui s’y développe. Au fil de votre visite, vous rencontrerez des espèces de la Mer du Nord, de la Méditerranée, des mers chaudes, des fleuves, rivières et lacs des régions tempérées ou tropicales.

Eau de mer tempérée


Télécharger

Direction Mer du Nord et Mer Méditerranée ! Découvrez des espèces animales particulières : certaines se confondent avec les fonds marins, grâce aux pigments de leur peau ; d’autres sont capables de changer de sexe… Des animaux si proches géographiquement et pourtant si méconnus.

Eau de mer chaude


Poisson-chirurgien

Cap vers les eaux turquoise des mers tropicales ! Un véritable feu d’artifice de formes et de couleurs offert par les habitants des récifs coralliens vous attend. Passez au-dessus et en dessous de l’Équateur en un clin d’œil. Émerveillez-vous devant la section la plus colorée et la plus diversifiée de l’aquarium.

Eau douce tempérée


Silure glane

Petit tête-à-tête avec les poissons des rivières et des étangs de nos régions ! Une quarantaine d’espèces de poissons peuplent leurs cours d’eau, mais certaines d’entre elles, présentées dans différents bassins, vous sont probablement inconnues. D’aquarium en aquarium, apprenez à mieux les (re)connaître.

Eau douce chaude


Piranha

Curieux face à face avec des poissons originaires des lacs et cours d’eau africains, asiatiques et sud-américains ! Certains vous seront probablement familiers, car ils sont très présents dans les magasins d’aquariophilie.

Choisissez votre langue - Kies uw taal - Wahlen Sie ihre Sprache - Choose your language

Découvrez les partenaires de l’Embarcadère du Savoir

Découvrez nos publications dans la boutique en ligne de l’Embarcadère du Savoir