Sharks and Coral reefs

The world of Tropics par excellence ! Take a look at the blacktip reef sharks tank, which has been especially fabricated a few years ago. A didactive area, interactive information boards and models dedicating to living and dried corals, as well as the newest fish tank, namely a tropical lagoon make this room complete.

Sharks


Requins à pointes noires

Fascinating inhabitants of the Tropics. This tank contains 66.000 Liter of sea water and is populated by tropical fishes, soft-corals and blacktip reef sharks. Blacktip reef sharks are originally from the Indo-Pacific region and populate rocky coasts and coral reefs. However, they can be spottet in the occidental part of the Mediterranean region, due to the construction of the Suez Canal.

Tropical Corals


Coraux sous les Tropiques

The Great Barrier Reef of Australia. A well-known term, which inspires your dreams, even if the essential subject – the corals – are not, or hardly known to the public. We invite you to a wonderful journey in order to discover the precious coral collections, which are originally from the scientific Belgian expedition to the Great Barrier Reef in 1967. A perfect opportunity to observe the beauty of the conserved specimens. Visit the interactive area to learn more about complex organism and its properties, their way of life, the construction of coral reefs and their threats to life.

Living corals


Requins à pointes noires

Set sail to the Tropics and its magical coral reefs! Discover the incredible diversity of forms and colours in their respective fish tank. The small reconstructed coral reef in the Aquarium, develops constantly. Therefore you will be able to see its progress again and again.

The tropical lagoon


Coraux sous les Tropiques

Want to go on a trip to the Tropics? Relax and observe our lagoon. It is 13m2 large and filled with fine sand and 8M3 of warm water. You will be impressed by the magnificient colours of the fishes swimming across it.

Choose your language

Discover our other museums

Discover our published works in our online shop

Requins et récifs coralliens

L’univers tropical par excellence ! Découvrez ici le bassin aux requins à pointes noires spécialement réaménagé il y a quelques années, un espace didactique d’exposition – bornes interactives, maquettes… – consacré aux coraux, vivants et inertes, et enfin le dernier aquarium de cette thématique venu compléter la salle : un lagon tropical !

Requins


Requins à pointes noires

Hôtes fascinants des eaux tropicales ! Ce bassin de 66 000 litres d’eau de mer accueille une population de poissons tropicaux, quelques coraux mous et des requins à pointes noires. Originaires de l’Indopacifique, les requins à pointes noires fréquentent généralement les côtes rocheuses et les récifs coralliens, mais depuis la construction du canal de Suez, il est possible d’en rencontrer dans la partie orientale de la Méditerranée.

Coraux sous les Tropiques


Coraux sous les Tropiques

La Grande Barrière de Corail en Australie ! Un nom évocateur qui fait rêver, mais dont le cœur essentiel – les Coraux – est encore peu et mal connu du public. Partez en voyage dans un espace particulièrement attractif pour découvrir la riche collection de coraux ramenés lors de l’expédition scientifique belge à la Grande Barrière de Corail en 1967. Une occasion unique d’admirer la richesse, la variété et la beauté des spécimens conservés. Un espace interactif pour mieux comprendre et expliquer ces organismes complexes, leur spécificité, leur mode de vie, la construction des récifs, les menaces qui pèsent sur leur survie…

Coraux vivants


Requins à pointes noires

Cap sur les tropiques pour découvrir la magie des récifs coralliens ! Venez découvrir l’incroyable diversité de formes et de couleurs des coraux dans le bassin qui leur est consacré. Le mini récif reconstitué dans l’aquarium évolue au fil du temps et vous aurez quelque chose de nouveau à découvrir à chaque visite.

Lagon tropical


Coraux sous les Tropiques

Envie d’un voyage sous les tropiques ? Dépaysez-vous grâce à notre lagon australien et ses 13 m² de sable fin. Penchez-vous et émerveillez-vous devant ses poissons colorés, qui viennent nager juste sous vos yeux dans 8 m³ d’eau chaude.

Choisissez votre langue - Kies uw taal - Wahlen Sie ihre Sprache - Choose your language

Découvrez les partenaires de l’Embarcadère du Savoir

Découvrez nos publications dans la boutique en ligne de l’Embarcadère du Savoir